• Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
    Results 81 to 100 of 140

    Thread: The Computer Thread

    1. #81
      Mr. Brightside
      Guest
      This user has no status.
        Edit
      I am:
      ----
        Edit

      Default

      Anybody know a good video grabber?

    2. #82
      Member
      is ~ Enigmatic Soul...
       
      I am:
      Innocent
       
      Enkde's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Brasov, Romania
      Posts
      99
      Rep Power
      11

      Post Windows 7

      WIndows 7 sounds promising it will be what Vista should be at his time.

      After me, i think that the best changes on OS, the big movements step it was with Windows 3.x, 95, XP...

      Vista is a failure on all lines, even with his SP1 applied or not.

      No matter what computer config you have, it always will give you an BSOD because of trouble with one or more hardware issues.
      And let's not talk also about the big, HUGE amount of resource requirements.

      Few days ago i updated my memory from 2GB to 4GB, on 32bit your computer can see a maximum 3.2 GB of your memory, and to move on 64 bits is not a good idea right now for me, but anyway, this change it was a better one for Vista but i felt that XP is handling more, more better my memory than the hungry Vista.

      So, for now on i will use XP until 7 will be officially released to market, until then i will try to use Windows 7 (Beta1) in my Virtual PC 2007 to get aquinted with the next OS.

      I said it once and i repeat it many times: Windows Vista is equal with Windows Millenium regarding their success on the public audience.

      That's it.

    3. #83
      Administrator
      is testing new status and mods
      settings
       
      I am:
      Godly
       
      God's Toy's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Here!
      Posts
      2,983
      Blog Entries
      3
      Rep Power
      10

      Default

      I so dont agree with you.

      Ive been running Vista for a few years now with no problems, no BSOD, no lock ups and never crashed on me... for me it's been the most reliable OS Ive had in a long while.

      64 bit is worth going to, i'm so happy I did! 8 GB RAM is always a good thing in my book and no limit on your GFX memory helps big time in games.

      Vista uses memory different to XP, so it may look like it's using more but really it's being more efficient using it.

      I am not a vista fanboy but I do get fed up with people bashing the OS cos they see everyone doing it...

      For the love of god people it's time to move on.

      Sumedha.

      Justified & Ancient.

      Owner & Administrator

    4. #84
      Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Samael's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      289
      Rep Power
      12

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by God's Toy View Post
      I am not a vista fanboy but I do get fed up with people bashing the OS cos they see everyone doing it...

      For the love of god people it's time to move on.

      Yeah, I have a confession to make I've been on Vista for some time now and I have to admit that for me "Vista bug" boiled down to getting used to "smooth" fonts, UAC and everything, but after some time I figured some things out, changed some I didn't like and its working out great for me. I wish some good ideas like content preview were made a little better (thinking Leopard), but its all good. I've got used to using what would be called now "an ancient machine" for a few years, so now for me C2D and 4GB of RAM is a totally different experience. I most probably will install Windows 7, but in the end we ALL upgrade eventually, like it or not. People said same things about 2000 and XP and now somehow we all think of the as standard.

      I hope that my next computer will be Mac, but knowing my insane percent maximum usage of computer that will not happened any time soon. My old CPU was I think more then 6 or something years old and believe it or not I still liked it and was finishing everything I needed, Word, Power Point, Mat Lab and Solid Works.. even some Photoshop ! I probably would still use it if it didn't explode lol Yeah, I had AMD :P

    5. #85
      Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Stargazer's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      438
      Rep Power
      14

      Default

      I finished downloading a movie yesterday ,it was in 8 different rar files.....while i try to unpack them i get a message saying the file is corrupted !.Can something be done about this error ? how do i set it right ?.....I was hoping someone here can help me with that.

    6. #86
      Administrator
      is testing new status and mods
      settings
       
      I am:
      Godly
       
      God's Toy's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Here!
      Posts
      2,983
      Blog Entries
      3
      Rep Power
      10

      Default

      Nope, a corrupted file is not going to ever work unless you know where it's been corrupted.(or by what) Best bet is to download it once more.
      Sumedha.

      Justified & Ancient.

      Owner & Administrator

    7. #87
      Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Samael's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      289
      Rep Power
      12

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by Stargazer View Post
      I finished downloading a movie yesterday ,it was in 8 different rar files.....while i try to unpack them i get a message saying the file is corrupted !.Can something be done about this error ? how do i set it right ?.....I was hoping someone here can help me with that.
      Try re downloading specific corrupted rar file. Only one is most probably corrupted. If there are comments posted where you got links from, go back to that page, read them and maybe someone posted file that works or maybe even uploaded re posted it, BUT first re download same file from the original link, because sometimes download managers mess things up.

    8. #88
      Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Stargazer's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      438
      Rep Power
      14

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by God's Toy View Post
      Nope, a corrupted file is not going to ever work unless you know where it's been corrupted.(or by what) Best bet is to download it once more.
      Quote Originally Posted by Samael View Post


      Try re downloading specific corrupted rar file. Only one is most probably corrupted. If there are comments posted where you got links from, go back to that page, read them and maybe someone posted file that works or maybe even uploaded re posted it, BUT first re download same file from the original link, because sometimes download managers mess things up.
      Thank You guys,i found which part is corrupt and downloaded it again it's working now ......The movie is 'The Holy Mountain' .

    9. #89
      Member
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      messickc's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      Huntsville, Alabama
      Posts
      74
      Rep Power
      11

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by Mathius Quest View Post
      Chat away in this thread about your computer stuff. Which OS you use, applications, gadgets (smartphones, mobile phones, mp3 players, camera's....) whatever is related to Pc's and Laptops, even iMac's.
      YAYY!! I just built a new computer after the one I had finally died. Here's the stats of my new one:

      Case: ThermalTake Motzart Tx
      Processor: Intel Core i7 965 Extreme Edition
      CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
      Mobo: Gigabyte GA-X58 Extreme
      RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333MHz
      No floppy :-( (I liked the 5.25" floppy drive in my old computer.)
      Sound: Creative Labs Audigy ZS Platinum (recycled from old system)
      Video: ATI All-in-Wonder HD (Has video input so you can record TV, like a tivo except you don't have to pay for it.
      HDD: 1 80GB SATA, 2 500GB SATA, 2 250GB PATA (recycled from past system)
      OS: Windows XP Pro, 32-bit, soon to be upgraded to Windows 7.0 64-bit whenever it comes out.-- as a result, I can only use 4GB of the 6GB of RAM.

      I have all 4 CPU cores enabled and Hyperthreading enabled on all 4 for a total of 8 effective CPU cores. When fully maxed-out (and when I can get it amxed out) the CPU temp only goes up to 45 degrees C. Amazing! (My old one RESTED at 50C.) Also, it is so quiet you can hardly tell if it's on or not sitting right next to it-- my last one sounded like a rocket blasting off!

      This processor also support virtualization-- meaning I can run two separate systems using the same processor. I want to larn how to do that so I can run Linux without having to dual-boot. I can run them both side-by-side at the same time.
      Last edited by messickc; February 23rd, 2009 at 01:47 AM.

    10. #90
      Member
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      messickc's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      Huntsville, Alabama
      Posts
      74
      Rep Power
      11

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by Enkde View Post
      WIndows 7 sounds promising it will be what Vista should be at his time.
      I messed the beta downloads, but from what I have been told by virtually everyone I know that has tested the beta, Windows 7 will be what Vista should have been. It's not that vista was unstable, it's that it is such a resource hog. Windows 7 will run everything in Vista Ultimate on half the resources.

    11. #91
      Member
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      messickc's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      Huntsville, Alabama
      Posts
      74
      Rep Power
      11

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by Gollum View Post
      Anybody know a good video grabber?
      What kind of video? Youtube? Capturing it on your screen? Recording live TV?

    12. #92
      Member
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      messickc's Avatar
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      Huntsville, Alabama
      Posts
      74
      Rep Power
      11

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by Gollum View Post
      The bulbs are on the same frequency as the printer 4 (2):

      I enjoyed that
      You laugh, but I have the opposite problem: My printer injects such horrible noise into my house's electrical system that my lightbulbs on the same circuit flicker-- I had to put a ferrite bead around the power cord, which seems to help alot.

    13. #93
      Guest
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      userid7's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      256
      Rep Power
      0

      Default A little off topic, but it is about computers,

      I was at a second hand computer store yesterday,saw stuff that beat my
      only year old system for very cheap,
      I was thinking of buying a couple and overclocking the hell out of them
      while using windows 7 , or whatever you call it.

      These newer computers have so much unnessary crap it's unreal, like
      this guy on the radio said, he used to do his work on a TRS-80 (16MB RAM)
      and now he's got a monster and it's not doing anything better for him.

      Peace,
      DangerBird.

    14. #94
      Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      SoulChild's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Central North Carolina, USA
      Posts
      933
      Rep Power
      17

      Default

      My computer blue screened on my like 10 times in a row this morning! I finally found the currupt file, and everything is working a okay!

      How you boys think I am coming along? So far, I have restored my computer twice, removed viruses, and installed my cd rom, and upgraded memory...No, still not a computer geek yet ha?....LOL (j/k) I'll get there one day...or maybe not! But, still thinking of buying a computer...like maybe in a few weeks!

    15. #95
      Administrator
      is testing new status and mods
      settings
       
      I am:
      Godly
       
      God's Toy's Avatar
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Here!
      Posts
      2,983
      Blog Entries
      3
      Rep Power
      10

      Default

      When I read "I finally found the currupt file" I said to myself "Nice"

      Upgrading memory can be tricky as so many types on the market now, it can get mind boggling. Well done!

      If I was going to buy a PC soon ish I would hold out till windows 7 is shipping with them, it's coming along really well.
      Sumedha.

      Justified & Ancient.

      Owner & Administrator

    16. #96
      Member
      is ~ Enigmatic Soul...
       
      I am:
      Innocent
       
      Enkde's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Brasov, Romania
      Posts
      99
      Rep Power
      11

      Post My updated specs...

      Here's my latest runing system.

      I've uploaded today, since i updated my 2 GB Ultra Geil RAM Dual Chn (2x1GB) with 4 GB A-DATA RAM Dual Channel (2x2GB)

      My computer info saved online at CPU-z website

      My Newest system:
      2009.03.05 CPU-z v1.50

      My Older system
      2008.03.30 CPU-z v1.44.2
      2008.02.10 CPU-z v1.44

      2006.06.10 CPU-z v1.34.1


      *And … my old, very, very old and greatest 386 SX at only 25 Mhz with only 4 MB RAM and a HDD of 80 MB Western Digital with speaker only (No Sound) having it from 1997, running on him games like DOOM 2, Transport Tycoon Deluxe and dying between 2002 and 2003 … Oh God… What times

    17. #97
      Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      SoulChild's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Central North Carolina, USA
      Posts
      933
      Rep Power
      17

      Default

      Quote Originally Posted by God's Toy View Post
      When I read "I finally found the currupt file" I said to myself "Nice"

      Upgrading memory can be tricky as so many types on the market now, it can get mind boggling. Well done!

      If I was going to buy a PC soon ish I would hold out till windows 7 is shipping with them, it's coming along really well.
      Thanks Peter! Yeah, the Geek Squad help me choose the memory...and even they didn't get it right the first time. But, we use a certain website to determine the memory type. But, at work, I do see them and customers exchange the memory sticks often! It is certainly challenging!

      I will take your advice. As you may already know, I am trying to hold out on purchasing a new computer as long as I can. I just really had a scare the other day because I had a paper due. I plan to stay steady with school untill I get my Medical Office Administraive Associates degree....and I don't want to have computer problems! I do realize that when I get the new computer....hell, I am just got through learning everything on XP, so now I feel like I am going to have to start all over again on my learning!

    18. #98
      Mr. Brightside
      Guest
      This user has no status.
        Edit
      I am:
      ----
        Edit

      Default

      I installed a strange version of XP on my laptop thats looks like the illicit lovechild of Vista and XP.. works fine but looks bloody awful

      think ill skip vista and wait fo the new version of windows

    19. #99
      Senior Member
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       

      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      358
      Rep Power
      13

      Default

      running a custom designed pc with an AMD Phenom quad, 4 gigs memory, a 500G internal drive, 5 external drives (one TB each), an M-Audio Delta 66 soundcard with an external I/O box, an NVIDIA GForce 9800 GTS vidieo card. I have an M-Audio Axiom 61 Midi controller plugged in via USB, a Yamaha Motif 6 ES and a Triton 61 LE plugged into the the Delta 66, and a Shure SM 58 mic run through a Behringer effects board and into the PC via a Lexicon Lambda interface (works better for this than the Delta 66). Also have a Gibson SG guitar plugged in to the Lambda and a Fender Thunderbird bass plugged into the Delta 66.

      I have no choice but to run XP with ASIO4All drivers since at least 50% of VSTis wont run on Vista (Vista isnt musician friendly).

    20. #100
      Mr. Brightside
      Guest
      This user has no status.
        Edit
      I am:
      ----
        Edit

      Default

      Wow thats some set up Jay, dont know what half of it does but it sounds good

    Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •